Saarc Summit Holistic Management of Disaster

Training Program on Short Range Regional Early Warning

Training Program on Short Range Regional Early Warning

Training Program on Short Range Regional Early Warning


Duration 21/06/2017 to 23/06/2017
Organizer SAARC Disaster Management Center (IU), Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India
Venue Country India
Venue Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management Campus, Behind PDPU, Village Raisan, Gandhinagar-382007, Gujarat, India
Registration Deadline 17/06/2017
Language Of Event English
Target Audience Delegates from SAARC Member States.

Early  warning  is  a  key  component  in  risk  reduction  which  can  save  lives  and property. The objective of early warning systems is to empower individuals and communities  exposed  to  hazards  to  act  in  sufficient  time  and  in  an  appropriate manner to reduce the possibility of injury, loss of life and damage to property and the environment.

Over the years, the SAARC member countries have evolved regional mechanisms for early warning of disasters. The program builds the capacity of professionals in understanding, managing, evaluating and undertaking improvements in end- to-end early warning systems for hydro- meteorological   and  geological  hazards  and extreme events. The course builds upon SDMC's experience in disaster management, facilitating regional cooperation and building capacities of disaster  management  institutions  and practitioners as well as communities.

The Program includes theoretical and practical sessions. An interdisciplinary team of experienced practitioners and experts provides a balanced set of methodologies to the sessions with theory, practical   experiences,   interactive  and participative lectures, group discussions, presentation, case studies and sectoral examples. Certifcate of completion will be awarded to participants upon successful completion of the training program.

Resource Person

  • Prof. Santosh Kumar
  • Dr. M. Mohapatra
  • Dr. Swapan Kumar Roy
  • Dr. Ajaykumar Bandela
  • Charles Geoffrey Pilling
  • Dr. Pulak Guhathakurta
  • Dr Santosh Kumar
  • Dr. Amreek Singh
  • Mr. Anshul Agarwal
  • Mr Lalit Dashora
  • Dr. D. S. Pai


  • Mr. Mohammad Nasim Abrahimi
  • Mr. Qutbuddin Amamy
  • Mr. Fazel Ahmad farzan
  • Ms. Rahima Akter
  • Ms. Nurun Nahar Chowdhury
  • Ms. Tajkia Ahmad
  • Mr. Yeshi Namgyel
  • Mr. Nima Tshering
  • Mr. Sonam Tshering
  • Mr Jacob Kispotta
  • Mr Ashish Sharma
  • Mr Love Kumar
  • Ms. Anjani Sindhusha Malineedi
  • Mr. Mohamed Ziyau
  • Mr. Ahmed Nishan
  • Mr. Kailash Matanchhea Shrestha
  • Mr. Jaganath Subedi
  • Mr. Amul Parajuli
  • Mr. Nasurullah Brohi
  • Ms Amna Shuja
  • Mr T. M. N. Peiris
  • Mr. K.P.G.W. Senadeera
  • Mr. M.A.C.M Riyas
Back to Top