Saarc Summit Holistic Management of Disaster


About Nepal

It is obvious that Nepal is a landlocked country in South Asia, and located in the central part of the Himalayas bordering to the north by the People's Republic of China, and to the south, east, and west by the Republic of India. With an area of 147,181 square kilometers and a population of approximately 27 million, Nepal is geographically diversified into different regions. Kathmandu, which is located in the valley, is the nation's capital as well as largest metropolis.

From the administrative and political point of view, Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into five development regions. Each district is headed by a permanent Chief District Officer (CDO) responsible for maintaining law and order and coordinating the works of field agencies of the various government ministries. The Interim constitution of Nepal, 2007 has declared Nepal as a federal democratic republic country; however it has yet to finalize its new federal structure based on geography, culture, religion natural resources, sustainability etc.

Nepal is typically endowed with cultural and natural heritages. Furthermore, it is the land of eight cultural and two natural heritages listed in UNESCO’s World heritage list. The majority of her population believes on Hinduism and it is home to the largest Shiva temple in the world, the famous Pashupatinath Temple, where Hindus from all over the world come for pilgrimage. Beside this, Siddhartha Gautama, the Lord Buddha and the apostle of peace and the light of Asia, was born in 623 B.C. in the famous gardens of Lumbini in the western Nepal, which later became a place of pilgrimage for Buddhists.

Joint Secretary
Disaster Management Division

Ministry of Home Affairs,Singh Durbar, Kathmandu, Nepal

  • + 977 1 4211208/214
  • ncdm[at]wlink[dot]com[dot]np
Back to Top